Login Register

Motocross round-up: Germany ends USA's Motocross des Nations dominance

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: October 02, 2012

  • Antonio Cairoli won two races but Italy finished fifth overall. Photo by Dave Rich

Comments (0)

Germany broke USA’s ten-year stranglehold in the Motocross des Nations International team event in Sunday’s event at Lommel in Belgium thanks to the consistency of Max Nagl, Kenny Roczen and Max Schiffer.

Following an incident involving American team members Justin Barthia and Ryan Dungee in the combined 500cc and open race, USA were edged into third place by the host country.

Great Britain has not won the event since the days of Jeff Smith, Vic Eastwood, Don and Derek Rickman and David Curtis, and on this occasion they were beaten into eighth place by Estonia.

The three races were dominated by current world kingpins Antonio Cairoli (Italy) and 18-year-old Jeffrey Herlings (Netherlands).

Cairoli led the combined 500 and 250cc race from start to finish from French ace Gautier Paulin, but with Nagl and Roczen taking third and fifth places, the Germans were already in a strong position. Herlings won the combined 250 and Open class race by a shade under a minute and with Roczen finishing fourth, Germany were leading with USA and France second and third.

A record crowd eagerly anticipated a close battle between Cairoli and Herlings in the 500cc and Open race, but whereas Cairoli got a clean start, Herlings suffered his worst getaway of the year and on completion of the opening lap he was in 28th place. However, he made up ground at a spectacular rate and on completion of the third lap he was up to fourth. In the closing stages he passed Barthia and Estonia’s Tanel Leok and began to close on Cairoli as the race ended.

Shepton Mallet KTM star Darren Banwell was beaten into second place in all three experts races in the Teignbridge club’s South West Off Road Motocross Series at Littlehempston, near Totnes, but he increased his lead in the championship over current title holder James Kensington. Mike Rowe was overall winner on the day.

Oliver Savery won two of the three races in the senior group, but he finished out of the top ten in his final race and he was edged into third place overall by Scott Briscoe and Tallon Veale.

British championship contender Bradley Cox from Oxford won the Kingswood Club’s Hawkesbury Cup trial, which was held in Breakheart Quarry, near Dursley. In four laps of ten sections he lost just two marks, both in the sixth section on a woodland climb over rocks and roots. Runner-up Gary Marshman was outstanding in the hazard making four unpenalised climbs, but the Compton Dundon challenger lost two marks in the ninth and six more in the tenth, which included a stop on his third lap.

Although not eligible for the experts class award, Porlock teenager Tom Hooper made best performance in the Tiverton club’s trial at Cove, near Bampton. He lost half the total incurred by top expert Matt McDonald and he lost all his marks in a gully climb in the first and second sections.


Motocross des Nations Team event at Lommel, Belgium – Race 1, 500 and 250cc: 1, A Cairoli (Italy); 2, G Paulin (France); 3, M Nagl (Germany); 4, C Desalle (Belgium). British: 8, T Searle; 16, J Nicholls. Race 2, Open and 250cc: 1, H Herlings (Netherlands); 2, T Leok (Estonia); 3, K de Dycher (Belgium); 4, K Roczen (Germany). British: 9, M Anstie, Nichols (dnf). Race 3, 500cc and Open: 1, Cairoli; 2, Herlings; 3, J Barthia (USA); 4, Leok. British: 11, Anstie; 12, Searle. Team scores: 1, Germany 25 pts; 2, Belgium 29; 3, USA 39; 4, Netherlands 44; 5, Italy 45; 6 France 47; 7, Estonia 56; 8, GB 56.

Teignbridge MCC South West Off Road Series Motocross at Littlehempston, Devon – Experts: 1, M Rowe 135 pts; 2, D Banwell 126; 3, J Kensington 116; 4, N Life 111. Seniors: 1, S Briscoe 125; 2, T Veale 118; 3, O Savery 115; 4, A Watkins 102. Juniors Group 1: 1, A Dunn 129; 2, L Chanter 128; 3, B Morrison 114; 4, M Sansom 107. Group 2: 1, E Vanderveer 132; 2, G Jones 118; 3, P Kerrison 116; 4, S Groves 114. Open: 1, W Gill 132; 2, C King 122; 3, P Gayland 120; 4, A Savery 112. Inter Junior 9-13 years: 1, D Mundell 135; 2, K York 122; 3, B Cooper 120; 4, M Treen 113. 14-16 years: 1, H Davey 130; 2, L Parrish 127; 3, B Gibbons 124; 4, J Wilson 109.

Kingswood MCC Hawkesbury Cup Trial at Dursley, Gloucestershire – Expert class awards: B Cox (Beta) 2 marks lost; G Marshman (Gas Gas) 8. Clubman experts: J Atwell (Gas Gas) 31; N Pekala (Beta) 37; G Talbot (Sherco) 40. Clubmen: B Squance (Gas Gas) 17; G Hodge (Fantic) 18; M Hanney (Beta) 24. Novice: A Hayward (Whitehawk) 9; A Jenkins (Montesa) 13; P Jenkins (Montesa) 16. Over 40 years: R Elliott (Gas Gas) 1; R Faulkner (Scorpa) 3; A Perry (Beta) 3. Over 50 years: D Fry (Beta) 1; D Clothier (Scorpa) 2; T Cole (Beta) 8; B Andrews (Beta) 8; M Strang (Gas Gas) 8. Youth awards: Expert: O Humphris (Beta) 33. A class: L Golding (Gas Gas) 16; O Pekala (Beta) 26. B class: G Marshman (Beta) 1; J Knight (Gas Gas) 12. C class: J Ridgeway (Gas Gas) 7; F Cullum (Gas Gas) 16. D class: L McGarragher (Beta) 67; H Ridgeway (Beta) 68.

Tiverton MCC Trial at Cove, Devon – Expert class awards: M McDonald (Jotagas) 14 marks lost; P Rew (Beta) 29. Clubman experts: H Pym (Beta) 75; R Broom (Beta) 87. Clubmen: I Baker (Honda) 3; M Champion (Gas Gas) 6; N Mackie (Sherco) 9. Novice: T Godwin (Beta) 3; J Glover (Gas Gas) 11; R Rogers (Yamaha) 11. Over 50 years: M Burdge (Fantic) 0; B Collins (Beta) 9; M Cox (Beta) 14. Pre 1965: J Luckett (Triumph) 5; N Smith (Triumph) 10; J Corin (BSA) 24. Twin Shocks: C Green (Honda) 0; M Gilbert (Fantic) 2; S Eastick (Fantic) 8. Youth expert: T Hooper (Beta) 7. A class: J Glover Jnr (Gas Gas) 14. B class: J Church (Beta) 27; R Carter (Beta) 37. C class: B Green (Beta) 0; T Rendall (Beta) 15; T Churchill (Gas Gas) 16.

Read more from Blackmore Vale Magazine

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters