Login Register

Motocross round-up: Luke Hawkins forces Kristian Whatley to work for hat-trick

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: April 03, 2013

Kristian Whatley raced his way to a hat-trick of wins in the expert open championship at round two of the Phoenix Tools South West Premier Motocross Championship at Fraddon in Cornwall. Photo: Dave Rich

Comments (0)

British championship contenders Kristian Whatley from the New Forest area and Radstock’s Luke Hawkins dominated the three experts races in the second round of the Premier Motocross Championships at Fraddon in Cornwall on Sunday.

Whatley won all three but Hawkins made him work hard for his triple success.

In the first race Hawkins held the upper hand for the first half of an 11-lap race before losing the advantage to Whatley, who went on to win by nine seconds.

The second race followed a similar pattern with Hawkins setting the pace before being overtaken by Whatley in the latter stages.

However, Whatley led the final race from the word go. Mark Wilde from Merriott near Crewkerne won all three over 50 years races but he was under pressure from Truro veteran Jason Fraser in the first two and from Gavin Flagg in the last.

Following the cancellation of a national event in the north Yeovil’s Ricky Wiggins gained a last minute entry in the Mendip Vale club’s Wessex Centre Championship trial at Chelwood on Sunday.

He ran out winner of the two-lap 20 section event at Fry’s Bottom by five marks from Guy Chandler. Ben Skinner from the New Forest area and former title holder Colin Crease finished all square on marking, but Skinner took third place by having lost his total in one less section than Crease.

Kurt Brain finished in fifth place and it is he who leads the title chase after four rounds.

Wiggins gained his advantage on an ‘s’ bend climb over cambers and tree roots in the 15th section.

He was unpenalised whereas his main rivals lost at least six. However, he lost eight marks on a steep climb over loose gravel and tree roots in the 20th, which penalised eight starters.

Close relatives Rob and Peter Carson took the main awards on the main and alternative routes in the South West Classic Association’s two-day Exmoor trial at Cove near Bampton and Barbrook in North Devon over the weekend. Plymouth’s Martin Gilbert was best on day one in an entry of 125.

They faced three laps of a dozen sections at Marwoods Farm on Saturday. Gilbert lost a dozen marks with Rob Carson on 19, but the latter lost only a further 14 in three laps of another dozen sections at Shallowford Farm on Sunday to take the main award.

On the alternative gentlefolk route, Peter Carson achieved his third success on the trot after losing six marks on the first day and four on the second.

Three notable retirements on the last day included Jon Corin, a class winner in the 2012 event, Mike Fear with a broken footrest and Colin Mote with a broken frame.

German Gert Merkel was best overseas rider and Mia Wickett from Bude in North Cornwall was best lady competitor with a respectable loss of only 43 marks.


Premier Motocross Championship (round 3) at Fraddon, Cornwall – Experts First Race: 1, K Whatley (Yamaha) 2, L Hawkins (Honda) 3, J Skuse (Suzuki) 4, L Hill (Honda) 5, S Charles (Kawasaki) 6, T Alba (Honda).

Second race: 1, Whatley 2, Hawkins 3, Carless 4, Hill 5, Skuse 6, J Evans (Honda). Third race: 1, Whatley 2, Hawkins 3, Evans 4, Skuse 5, Carless 6, Hill.

Over 35 years, First race: 1, M Wilde (Suzuki) 2, J Fraser (Honda) 3, R Hanson (Yamaha) 4, M Tucker (Suzuki) 5, B Richards (Kawasaki) 6, R Lewis (KTM). Second race: 1, Wilde 2, Fraser 3, Tucker 4, Hanson 5, G Flagg (Suzuki) 6, J Deadman (Honda). Third race: 1, Wilde 2, Flagg 3, Deadman 4, Fraser 5, Tucker 6, Lewis.

Over 40 years, First race: 1, Justin Hawkins (Kawasaki) 2, John Hawkins (Kawasaki) 3, S Locke (KTM). Second race: 1, John Hawkins 2, Justin Hawkins 3, Locke. Third race: 1, J Hawkins 2, Locke 3, Justin Hawkins, S Hart (Kawasaki).

Over 50 years, First race: 1, K Hanson (Honda) 2, S Goodfellow (Honda) 3, I Nott (Kawasaki). Second race: 1, Hanson 2, Nott 3, Goodfellow. Third race: 1, Hanson 2, Nott 3, Goodfellow.

Junior Championship, First race: 1, J Gilbert (Honda) 2, R Williams (KTM) 3, G Callow (KTM) 4, J Thomas (KTM). Second race: 1, A Milliar (Honda) 2, Williams 3, Callow 4, Gilbert. Third race: 1, Milliar 2, Williams 3, Gilbert 4, L Sturgeon (KTM)

Junior Group B race winners: G Bryan (Yamaha) 3. Junior Group C race winners: G Beale (Kawasaki) 2, A Watkins (Suzuki) 1.

Mendip Vale MCC Traders trial at Chelwood, Somerset – Expert Class awards: R Wiggins (Sherco) 23 marks lost, G Chandler (Beta) 28, B Skinner (Gas Gas) 38, C Crease (Gas Gas) 38, K Brain (Sherco) 42, L Hassall (Gas Gas) 49. Clubman expert awards: Henry Pym (Beta) 29, S Watson (Gas Gas) 31, T Ashford (Beta) 32, A Strang (Gas Gas) 51. Clubman awards: B Roads (Beta) 9, T Pike (Gas Gas) 19, J Dean (Beta) 21, P King (Montesa) 25.

Over 40 years: H Ashford (Beta) 11, S Prideaux (Sherco) 24, L Wiggins (Sherco) 25, N Tomkins (Beta) 32.

Over 50 years: G Clothier (Beta) 11, R Treble (Scorpa) 17, J Bliss (Montesa) 22, K Miller (Gas Gas) 23.

Novice awards: M Franklin (Beta) 37, C Adams (Montesa) 38, A Humphris (Beta) 44, T Culliford (Sherco) 52.

South West Classic Association Two Day trial at Cove and Barbrook, Devon – star route winner: R Carson (BSA) 33 marks lost.

Pre unit: P Edwards (Ariel) 89.

Unit Construction: P Wickett (Triumph) 56.

Best Two Stroke: J Pickering (BSA) 49.

First Class awards: G Baker (Triumph) 57, T Wooldridge (Saracen) 58, S Hay (BSA) 60.

Twin Shock awards: S Wooldridge (Yamaha) 36, M Gilbert (Fantic) 46, M McDonald (Triumph) 49, Cobb (Fantic) 60.

Best Oversea’s competitor: G Merkel (Germany) Fantic 53. Gentleman’s route awards, overall winner: P Carson (BSA) 10. Unit construction: C Legg (Triumph) 13.

Pre unit and twin cylinder class winner: N Smith (Triumph) 27. Two Stroke: S Armisted (Francis Barnett) 16. Rigid frame: K Wells (DMW) 37.

First Class awards: B Micklethwaite (Francis Barnett) 23. A Borton (BSA) 26, J Mantle (AJS) 29, T Bradley (Triumph) 30, L Alden (BSA) 31, D Jones (BSA) 32.

Twin shock class winner: M Hitchcott (Honda) 12. First Class awards: S Keedwell (Fantic) 24, D Gollicker (Honda) 27, N Sheppard (Bulaco) 27, R Sully (Yamaha) 29, D Whitty (Honda) 33. Pastmasters awards: C Dommett (BSA) 8, P Gaunt (Honda) 13, M Grant (Ariel) 14.

Ladies awards: M Wickett (Triumph) 43.

Read more from Blackmore Vale Magazine

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters